Basil Harvest

Basil leaves must be continually harvested and pruned to avoid flowering, once basil plants flower or bolt, they start to lose their flavor. Pruning basil also produces larger and bushier plants. I will use this basil to make a jar of pesto for my mozzarella and halloum sandwiches.

There are hundreds of pesto recipes online, I like to use a very simple one. I like to add ground flaxseed for omega 3 and some almonds for vitamin E.

Basil Pesto Recipe:
• ½ a clove of garlic, chopped
• sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
• 3 good handfuls of fresh basil, leaves picked and chopped
• a handful of pine nuts, very lightly toasted
• a good handful of freshly grated Parmesan cheese
• extra virgin olive oil
optional
• a small squeeze of lemon juice

Fresh basil pesto

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Basil Harvest

  1. q8ymelburnian on said:

    I wish I was in Kuwait to put my hands in the dirt and do some gardening!
    you are great!
    I wish you all the best I check your blog very frequently… 🙂
    Kind regards..
    Talal..

  2. Thanks for the pesto recipe. As you mentioned I have to prune my basil often. I just love looking at them and sometimes refuse to pick any fruit or prune any plant I have.Thanks for sharing Al Zainah.

Leave a Reply

