Greens That Didn’t Mind May Heat

May hasn’t been easy on my garden. I’ve lost several plants to the heat like Zucchini, Tomatoes, Mustard, Corn, and Spinach.

mustard couldn’t stand the heat

Some plants however, have proved to be exeptionally hardy, plants like Dinosaur Kale, which exceeded my expectations in how tolerant they can get, can you believe these now stalky brassicas have been standing tall in my garden since early October?

Their leaves are starting to get narrow, as the plant looks like its ready to flower. Just picture the amount of Kale I got to harvest this year. Amazing.


And it is still good to harvest! I used to think brassicas hated the heat, I guess I was wrong.


I cant wait until it flowers.

Kale wants to survive so badly, that its producing new baby kales on it’s stalks.  I am really amazed by this plant’s will to survive! A big success in Kuwait, Im surprised no one else grows it here.

rainbow swiss chard

Another delightful surprise to be still giving, is Rainbow Swiss Chard, this plant, with leaves more delicate that those of Kale, are still happy despite the scorching heat and dusty winds. I really want these plants to flower, so I can collect their seeds, but they’re still fighting for life.

I could go on and on about Kale and Swiss Chard. Grow them In September for a continuos supply of healthy greens to last you well more than 10 months.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Greens That Didn’t Mind May Heat

  1. farzana on said:

    These are lovely! Over in Qatar, my mint’s been taking a real beating so I’ve brought it indoors now. Did u start these from seed? Any particular soil you’re using? I love those veg boxes you’re planting in – more info on that?

    • Hello Farzana,
      Thank you for your comment, I did start both kale and Swiss chard from seeds.
      My soil is a mix of 1/3 peat moss 1/3 perlite 1/3 compost. I also add mineral rock dust, and occasionally organic plant food like blood meal and such. There are many posts on my soil composition.

      Mint did well here in the spring. I don’t worry at all about mint, as it will always come back to life, no matter how rough it’s had it.

      Happy gardening!

  2. Jeanie AlFuhaid on said:

    Thanks for all the good info, Alzainah! I’ll add these to my list of seeds to buy this summer.

  3. Amazing work and creativity 🙂
    Sad for dead plants!
    So is there any planting can take place in this hot weather now adays?

    • Thank you very much!
      The way I see it, if I can’t stand the heat enough to look after my plants, I’m not growing anything. Although I do have leftover genovese basil, Swiss chard, and rosemary still holding up. I wouldn’t plant anything new as even at night time it’s not enjoyable. I like to focus on composting in the summer.

      • Aren’t you using some sort of net shield?
        I also wonder, does the sun hit your plants from sunrise to sunset?
        Sorry to ask, but I’m learning from you.
        Your work is so neat. I’m impressed.
        You made me miss Basil Pesto!
        Last jars I got was from Gilroy California.
        Best luck with composting and everything.
        🙂

      • Thank you for your kind words Zaq,
        And you can always ask, I’m happy to share.

        I am leaving my garden unshaded at the moment, as I found no point in trying to save my plants, as it’s too hot for me to look after them, this is why I am focusing on composting, and with the heat gone, I will turn the beds’ soil and amend it with fresh compost and rock dust.

        Basil pesto is the summer dish, I’ve made some yesterday from unshaded genovese basil, and it tasted wonderful.
        It will do well in the warm months following the summer, and then try to seed when it’s cold at night.

  4. Garden sure need much care during summer. Plants need to be watered properly, they should be placed in a proper shade, requires more caution for pests and insects.

    • Thank you for the tips!
      Our Kuwaiti summer however is quite unbearable with temperatures rising to around 125 F. It is extremely harsh for the garden and the gardener. So most gardening activity is stopped during the 3 very hot months. The temperatures drop by mid September, and this is when gardens start growing again. I like to think of it as our opposite version of frost.

      What are the seasons like in Brisbane?

  5. hi its s_ii ;D
    Where can I find kale & swiss chard seeds?

Leave a Reply

